1 min.

Three new ministerial nominees approved by the ruling coalition’s council

editor |

Three new ministerial nominees approved by the ruling coalition’s council

The coalition council of the ruling GERB and United Patriots decided on Monday that all three ministers who resigned on August 31 - Nikolai Nankov of regional development and public works, Valentin Radev of the interior, and Ivailo Moskovski of transport, information technology and communications, will be relieved of duty. The motion for their release will be laid before the National Assembly on Thursday, September 13, prime minister Boiko Borissov told reporters.

Alexander Manolev, now deputy minister of economy, will be nominated for transport minister. Interior ministry chief secretary Mladen Marinov (an office equal to deputy minister) will be nominated for interior minister. GERB MP Petya Avramova will be nominated for minister of regional development and public works.

Radev, Nankov and Moskovki submitted their resignations on August 31 over a bus crash which claimed 17 lives and left dozens injured. "We carry the political responsibility," Valentin Radev said at the time, adding that there are many more people responsible for the accident but that he and his peers had obviously failed to organise work in the respective ministries well.

The reasons for the accident, which happened on the road connecting the capital Sofia to the town of Svoge in northwestern Bulgaria on August 25, are still under investigation.

Standart RSS feed

www.standartnews.com © all rights reserved